Shiny, Happy People

by

Merry Christmas to me! I just look at them and get all giddy–almost as much as when I smell crayons or sniff freshly-sharpened pencils!

I have been reading and re-reading HOOKED by Les Edgerton. A must-read, indeed! The subtitle is “write fiction that grabs readers at page one and never lets them go”…He teaches about the inciting incident and how to make it WORK. This has been an issue for me for quite some time on a couple of my manuscripts, and I am excited to finally have this valuable information such as: being able to better differentiate between an inciting incident and a situation, using inciting incident as a trigger, recognizing the character’s awareness of his/her story-worthy problem to name just a few of the points he illuminates ever-so-poignantly.

Incidentally, (pardon the segue pun) Jim Henson’s Doodle Dreams: Inspiration for Living Life Outside the Lines features the simple phrase “Beginning is the hardest thing.” This little book was a special find. An exchange of 50 cents at the Habitat for Humanity Restore and it was all mine for the taking and the sharing. It also says: “An artist gives people back a part of themselves-the stories and sounds, the feeling of what it’s like to be alive. That’s a pretty powerful gift.”

And:

“If you find a place where

people look happy, stick around…

and invite some friends.”

Hey! The Doodle Diner is FULL of happy, happy doodlers! So, stick around…

Lastly, The 2011 Children’s Writer’s & Illustrator’s Market is just begging to have its shiny new spine cracked. And cracking it is a good idea. According to Henson’s book “We’re all like eggs-fragile and full of possibilities. But unless we come out of our shells, we just stay eggs.”

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Shiny, Happy People”

  1. Roberta Baird Says:

    Such nice reading material Teri!! I especially like the Jim Henson one… what a find! I hope they bring you much joy and inspiration.

  2. sketched out Says:

    Oh great stuff, Teri. I definitely need to get my grubby hands on the new 2011 Children’s Writer’s & Illustrator’s Market, but the other two books sound pretty intriguing as well. Guess I better beef up my book budget for this year to fit them in, hee hee! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Tanja Bauerle Says:

    Ditto on that one, Linda. I gotta get the Market guide and get a mailing out. It’s been way too long. Thank you Miss Teri for lighting that proverbial fire. 🙂 T.

  4. Les Edgerton Says:

    Just wanted to thank you for the shout-out of my little blue book, Hooked. I appreciate it and more, I’m delighted that it’s helping you in your own writer’s journey.

    And… I really enjoyed the photo where I was the middle of the Oreo… It’s the best part!

  5. princesstomato Says:

    Roberta, the Jim Henson one if filled with joyful doodles, of course. You will love it.

    Linda and Tanja, the Market guide is undoubtedly a priceless resource. I think I read somewhere that Alice Pope will not be doing any more of them. Has either of you heard that?

    Les, oh goodness! That little blue book is really shaking up my story structure (even picture books), and am I ever thankful! So glad you like the photo. I guess being sandwiched between Jim Henson and Alice Pope is a pretty good place to be. 🙂 But Hooked is definitely the middle of the Oreo at this point for me, too! Thanks for stopping by the Doodle Diner!

  6. Tanja Bauerle Says:

    Wow, thank you Les. How exciting!
    Yup, Alice Pope is no longer editing the CWIM. She now leads the http://scbwi.blogspot.com/ children’s market blog.
    Toodles,
    T.

Leave a Reply

