On the second day of Christmas…

by

{watercolor, 2010}

My assigned day was the second day! This is what I imagine when I think of a turtle dove. Otherwise, if you google an actual turtledove its a pretty plain little bird. Nothing against the turtledove, I just like my reptilian flying creature idea!

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “On the second day of Christmas…”

  1. sketched out Says:

    Hee hee!!! I love those little guys. I often have the same picture in my head… although your rendition is way cuter!

  2. bornagainbrazilian Says:

    Same here. As a child, I was always confused… I love your version.

  3. Roberta Baird Says:

    yep…. you captured exactly what see in my head every time I hear that song! Cute Candace!

  4. Vicki Says:

    “Turtle” Doves. Brilliant.

  5. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Very clever and well executed. I will never think about turtledoves in the same way.

  6. The First Day of Christmas « TheDoodleDiner Says:

    […] out the Second Day and the Third […]

  7. David Sones aka Pickledog Says:

    Their little wings must need to flap super fast to lift their little turtle bums of the ground.

  8. David Sones aka Pickledog Says:

    Oh, and they are very cute too! : )

  9. sjctenney Says:

    This is so great! Very creative!

  10. valgalart Says:

    delightful 🙂

  11. princesstomato Says:

    Love their little scarves, hats, wings. So cute!

Leave a Reply

