Lisa at the Doodle Diner

by

Woohoo!! Lisa Graves is in da house!! We are so glad to have her as one of our new doodlers!

A little about Lisa:

Q:If you could only use one colour to draw or paint with forever and ever, which colour would you use
A. Stone.

Your studio is…
Fantastic and clean- has great natural light, exposed beams, its own staircase, 150-year-old wide board pine floors, etc. But I can NEVER use it, so for now I work out of my dining room so that I can work and watch the kids at the same time. Someday, I will be allowed to retreat to my Laura Ingalls-esque Studio Room and focus on my work, but for now- I have to doodle around the greasy fingerprints my children keep leaving on my pad of vellum.

Q. What forms of marketing your work do you employ?
A. I’m on guru- which can be good and bad. Good because I’ve found some great long term clients on there- but bad because I can’t help but get offended when someone posts a job to have a 42 page picture book illustrated for less than $250. (wth?)
I also do a postcard mailing 2 to 3 times/year. I have a blog, and a website.

Q. Do you have an agent…if not would you like to work with one?
A. I do not have an agent. I wouldn’t mind working with one, I’d like to get into licensing.

Q. What is the first thing you remember drawing?
A. profiles- my dad always doodled the same profile of a man with a big square nose, so I had to draw a girl’s profile with a soft round nose. To this day, girls profiles are what I draw whenever there’s a pen and a scrap of paper.

Lisa Graves
www.lisagravesdesign.net
http://lisagravesdesign.blogspot.com

www.olivitgroup.net

7 Responses to “Lisa at the Doodle Diner”

  1. roberta baird Says:

    Hi Lisa!

    Nice to have you here at the Doodle diner…. I can relate to the greasy finger prints and the Guru account…. Those completely outlandish offers can be offensive and funny at the same time!

    Welcome to the Doodle Diner!

  2. tanjabauerle Says:

    Hi Lisa,

    I love that you are a mum as well. I have two little girls and they can make keeping my art fingerprint free a little challenging. 🙂
    A few years ago I had an E-lance acount and I found the same thing when it came to people bidding for projects. $50 for 100 clipart image sounds crazy and insulting, but those were some of the things that I stumbled across.

    Nice meeting you. T.

  3. sjctenney Says:

    I love having other mom illustrators in this group that I can relate to! How fun! I’m excited to get to know you and your art a little better!

    Shawna

  4. tanjabauerle Says:

    Illustrator mum unite. Yeah! I’m looking forwards tobeing par of this extremely talented group. Happy Drawing. T.

  5. Lisa Says:

    Hahahah!!! This is fantastic! Yes, I’m a mom of 2— Finn will be 5 in June and Stella Miette turns 3 in a few weeks. Needless to say- its very difficult to get ANYTHING done during the day… and everything I own is sticky. I’d like to get a hip holster for baby wipes. lol.

    Thanks for the warm welcome. As they say in Massachusetts— this is wicked pissah. hahaha.

  6. sketched out Says:

    Lisa, love your work. Can’t wait to see more of it! Thanks for taking the time to share with us.

  7. Pickledog Says:

    Welcome to the diner Lisa, your style is so much fun. I love the name Finn, that’s what we almost named our little guy, but he just looked more like a Casey.

Leave a Reply

