Mike R. Baker… I’ll be back

by

dorothy and alice

Sometimes you hit a bump in the road. If you’re lucky, it’s just a bump and will soon pass. That’s what I’m expecting. I have cancer. I have had 2 major operations already. I’m about to have another – a big one. But it could very well cure my cancer – or at the very least, buy me a decade or three. I’m otherwise healthy and strong and living life full-tilt, and the doctors are all positive. I’m confident that I’ll be back at the drawing board and in great health very soon!

So, how has all this work on my health affected my life in art? Well, I’ve drawn only with my daughter for a few months, posting nothing. I look at art and illustration online and been to a few shows. At first, I felt guilty I wasn’t posting art. But, well, when you face the possibilty of death, all you think about is your family and getting better. And that’s okay. Health and love are top priorities… art will have to come third.

Oh, the picture? I just like it. Funny, you do a Google image search for Dorothy and Alice and it comes up first (the theater group that used my image asked permission).

Anyway… here’s a few links of interest for all you artists and art-appreciators.

Pete Emslie on the joy of doodling.

If you’re interested in using Flash to create comics, Gabe of Big Pants Mouse has a great process tutorial.

Mad Magazine cartoonist and caricature artist, Tom Richmond, has a great blog. Check out his tutorials!

“Rad” is a storyboard artist at Dreamworks and he has a great “how-to” blog.

Check out josefskrhola’s photostream on Flickr for some absolutely gorgeous Czech illustrations!

Okay, sorry about the rambling post. Just wanted to catch up a bit. Have a great everything, my friends!

10 Responses to “Mike R. Baker… I’ll be back”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Mike – Take good care of yourself and of your family. Your pencil will be waiting when you’re back to the drawing board- and when you are LOOK OUT! – (this illo’s awesome!) -Kelly

  2. sketched out Says:

    Thanks Mike, for taking time out to share your thoughts and these wonderful links. Enjoyed all of them! Looking forward to you getting back in the saddle, but in the mean time… get well!

  3. Loni Edwards Says:

    Hi Mike!
    Thanks so much for the wonderful links! I am going to spend my night tonight digging through them. Also, thank you for sharing about your illness. It sounds like you have a positive attitude and a great support system to help you through it. That is fantastic. Keep it up and I look forward more of your posts when you feel better.

  4. Roz Fulcher Says:

    Wow. You just never know what is going on behind the fabulous art. My thoughts and prayers are with you. After losing my dad to cancer just 3 weeks ago, this really hits a chord with me ( I can just see you with your little girl drawing) and I admire your strength and attitude as you go through this journey. You are an inspiration and I look forward to seeing your work for years and years to come. Thanks for sharing.
    xo

  5. roberta baird Says:

    Great links Mike!
    We’re so lucky to have you at the Doodle Diner! I’ll bet your daughter is turning out to be an amazing little artist…. just look who her mentor is!!!

  6. David Sones Says:

    You are one amazing guy Mike. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your health, and life. I look forward to seeing you back at the drawing board making super awesome art, but more important will be hearing that you are healthy as a horse again. You are in my thoughts.

    Great links too. I’m looking forward to checking out the tutorials in just a couple of minutes.

  7. sheree Says:

    Lovely illustration as always, Mike! My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family

  8. teri Says:

    mike, you are just one of these people that make each of us be better people ourselves…just by knowing your strength. i have been thinking of you and your family each day, and look forward to a great recovery! and lots more great art from you!

  9. mike r baker Says:

    Thank you, my friends. I go in for surgery on March 22. I will be back, healthy and happy, quite soon. I am certain.

  10. Edrian Thomidis Says:

    Mike,

    My thoughts and prayers are with you for a quick and safe recovery after surgery. Take care of yourself and your family. Your drawing and your art will always be there. Looking forward to seeing more of your great art soon!!

Leave a Reply

