Goals, Resolutions & All Things 2010

by

Phew!  It’s a new year, a fresh start, a new beginning, and a time when many artists set new goals.  My first goal is to finish the illustrations for my latest illustrated book by March….and I am only on the 5th of double-page 13 spreads.  Normally, illustrators of children’s books are given about a year to complete a book project…but I was given 5 months.  Honestly, I could not say “no” to the project because I really believe in the story and felt the book had Divinely landed smack-dab in the middle of my drawing table.  I’ve learned not to say “no” in circumstances which are Divinely appointed!  So right now I am working day and night on “Champ’s Story: Dogs Get Cancer Too!” for Sylvan Dell Publishing (written by Sherry North).  I love this story!  It has a happy ending, and I think it will help lots of kids who are diagnosed with cancer or have a friend or pet who is receiving treatment.

If you need inspiration and a few good tips on becoming a better illustrator in 2010, read my article titled “Your New Year’s Resolution: Become a Better Illustrator” in Illustrator Tips column in this latest issue of The Prairie Wind, the e-newsletter for the SCBWI-IL.  Lots of good tips in there, plus samples from my latest book “Little Black Ant on Park Street” (written by Janet Halfmann for Soundprints Publishing).

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Goals, Resolutions & All Things 2010”

  1. sketched out Says:

    First, I just have to say once again, I love this cover art. Especially the dog’s sweet little face. You put so much tenderness into it. I can imagine how wonderful the rest of the book will be.

    Here’s hoping you finish the project in record time, so you can take some time to rest!

    Wanted you to know, also, I’ve read your article in The Prairie Wind, online and found it really helpful, especially since I’m working feverishly to put a portfolio together right now! So thanks for sharing your expertise with all of us!

  2. licoricegirl Says:

    Thanks…and I am sure your portfolio will ROCK!

  3. valgalart Says:

    I love that the dog is smiling because they do! Very important book in my humble opinion. The more you know, it helps to cope if you are informed 😉 love it and you rock!!!

  4. princesstomato Says:

    What a meaningful project! I can’t wait to see it in its completed state!

  5. Roberta Baird Says:

    I love this Kate…. I can’t wait to read the book and see the rest of the artwork!!!

Leave a Reply

