Reaching

by

I love the concept of January being “a beginning” and that somehow, in January, you are magically cleansed and given yet another shot at making things happen. Some say this idea is simply an illusion. Maybe so, but it’s an illusion that seems to work well for this gal. For me, creating a list of goals during the first month of the year tends to set a productive tone for the next eleven.

This January however, I am inundated with a gazillion different goals swirling around inside my head, pulling me in as many directions. My mind pulls me toward career goals, health goals, financial goals and on and on, ’round and ’round they swirl. How do I begin to make a coherent list out of so much brain chatter?

I suppose my first goal could be… reigning in all that yakety-yak? But how? Hmmm, perhaps journaling could be of service.

Ok… 1. Keep a journal!

Great, got my first goal. But now the sheer volume of all I want to accomplish has me feeling queasy and overwhelmed. How do I manage huge goals like:

2. Create a portfolio for Children’s Book industry.

3. Create self promotion pieces.

4. Go live with website.

5. Learn yoga.

6. Allow myself more time to read.

7. Learn gourmet cooking.

8. Learn photography.

9. Follow my Bliss…?

I know! Break each goal down into smaller, more manageable, daily and weekly bits! –One often hears this advice from so many different sources. Maybe instead of muttering quietly to myself, “yeah, yeah, good advice” I could actually take that advice for a change, (another goal, possibly?)

Alright, I think I might finally be on the right track… nearing the goal line, as it were (sorry, hee hee.)

So if you’ll please excuse me now, I’m going to nip off and get to work dissecting some of my goals into bite size pieces.

Have a wonderful, productive, prosperous, happy happy new year, everyone!
Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Reaching”

  1. licoricegirl Says:

    That’s great, Linda! I have never been one to make New Year’s resolutions.,…but I am also not one to set a schedule for myself. If I feel like i need to make a change or set a goal, I’m like Nike – I “just do it”. But now you have me rethinking…it would be good to set some goals and start the year off on the right foot.

    Great illustration, too!

  2. sketched out Says:

    Thanks, Kate!

    I’ll tell ya, if you are disciplined enough to do it the Nike way, my hat is off to you! My hubby is like that, but sadly, I am not. I tend to be a gross procrastinator. Luckily, conversely, also a bit compulsive. So if I set goals, especially if I write them down and proclaim them… I”ll do them, if for no other reason, to check it off my list. (I’ve even done a thing not on the list, then added it to the list, just so I could check it off.) I’m such a knucklehead, hee hee.

  3. Edrian thomidis Says:

    On a positive note… You have 11.5 months to get it all done! To a very productive 2010!

  4. princesstomato Says:

    The older I get, the more schedules I need in order to get everything done. Some of it may just be being self-employed, period. Things with deadlines, goals, dates attached get done faster than the other things on “the list”, so I think it is a great time of year to get things on that list. Prioritize, work hard, and try to be ahead of schedule whenever possible so that when setbacks come, there is less stress. Easier said than done, but that is my main goal for 2010.

  5. Roberta Baird Says:

    From what I can see you’re off to a VERY good start in ALL of those areas lady!!!

Leave a Reply

