Mike Baker in da House!

by

johnny_appleseed

Hi! Thanks for the welcome! I’m really glad to be here.

I’m Mike R. Baker [blog], artist and illustrator, husband and father, and lucky guy to have such great friends like the other artists here. I’m still building my portfolio, my style, and my education, so I’ve only done local work so far in illustration (mostly educational stuff for schools and parks). But I’m up and coming so look out! (No, really, look out, I can be kind of clumsy.)

Teri sent me this questionnaire to introduce me so… here it is.

1.If you could only use one colour to draw or paint with forever and ever, which colour would you use?
Ack! I love color! Just one? Oh, no!!! (sigh) Okay, how about brownish orange?

2.What do you most often draw when on the phone?
People pooping. So funny!!! Yeah, I know, what am I, 4?

3.Your studio is…
Also a lovely dining table! So versatile and inconvenient!

4.Other than your personal style what illustration style are you drawn to and would you ever consider trying it?
Well, first off, my “personal style” is strongly influenced by 50’s cartoons, advertising, and children’s books. I love Mary Blair, Little Golden Books, block prints, design, etc. Other style I’m drawn to? (heh-heh… “drawn”) I really like simple ink line cartooning. I’d like to try that.

5.What forms of marketing your work do you employ?
Teh internets. The series of tubes are my friends. Seriously, I get a lot of connections just by doing a few art memes.

6.Do you have an agent…if not would you like to work with one?
No agent. I’d consider one. I’ve heard good things about going either way. Met some great agents. My friend, Adam Rex, doesn’t use one and does great. I’m still thinking about it.

7.What is the first thing you remember drawing?
A horse’s head. I was so proud. Next I drew a banana guy picking his nose.

8.Do you have a favorite memory from an art class?
I had a drawing battle with a friend in class once – one-up each other with destructive forces. We rolled on the floor we laughed so hard.

9.When you go to a diner, what food would you be most likely to order?
A chili size (that’s toast, topped with a burger patty, smothered in chili, onions and cheese), coffee and a cherry pie.

10.Is there a certain person from your childhood that especially encouraged you to pursue your love for art?
No, not really. But I had a lot of inspiration.

Okay, thanks for reading, see ya later!

Tags:

4 Responses to “Mike Baker in da House!”

  1. princesstomato Says:

    I am so laughing at number 2. As for number 3, well the doodle diner is the PERFECT name for your group! πŸ™‚

    We are so glad to have you!

  2. roberta baird Says:

    number two and number two!!! You’re a hoot Mike!!

  3. Kathleen Rietz Says:

    This is awesome Mike. Hee hee…guess i need to get my little interview going as well. HHmmm…

  4. valgalart Says:

    I enjoyed reading this very much! You are supah-doopah great πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

