Candace Trew Camling at the Doodle Diner

by
Watercolor, 2009

Watercolor, 2009

Hi, I’m yet another member of the Doodle Diner, Candace Trew Camling. Its so great to be a part of this group! I have prepared some answers to some interview questions for my first post!:

1. Your studio is…
the best place in the house!! I look forward to getting in there every morning when I wake up. (well, most mornings anyways.) I have my computer, art desk, supplies and all my favorite books in here. I live in a 2 bedroom house in Des Moines, IA, and one of the bedrooms happens to be my studio.

2. Other than your personal style what illustration style are you drawn to and would you ever consider trying it?
I really love illustrations that are collaged fabric or sewn together. I also like 3D works like “Red Nose Studios”. I already play around with fabrics, felt and buttons quite a bit when I craft, but someday I would really like to try a more sculptural look and see what I come up with!

3. What forms of marketing do you employ?
I have a personal website that needs to be updated SO BADLY! (ok, bad first example) I also have a portfolio on Coroflot.com. I send out the usual postcards and I update my blog a few times a week.

4. What is the first thing you remember drawing?
I’ve seen my REALLY early drawings, but the first thing I remember really drawing was “Princess Jasmine” from Disney’s “Aladdin”. Oh, Disney.  Also, I did this amazing “follow the teacher” drawing of an owl in Mrs.Downey’s first grade class. I think my mom might have removed it from the fridge when they remodeled the kitchen during my time in high school.

5. Is there a certain person from your childhood that especially encouraged you to pursue your love of art?
Yeah. Mom always had a ton of supplies around for me. Notepads, sketchbooks, crayons, markers, and as I grew up, she made sure I had better stuff. There is nothing more frustrating than trying to work with cruddy art supplies. Also, my art teachers through the years at Kenowa Hills Public Schools. They really have GREAT art teachers: Mrs. Rossell, Mrs. Baker, and Ms. Fritz.

Well, I guess that is all I have for now, but I look forward to all the opportunities and amazing things that this group has the potential to be!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Candace Trew Camling at the Doodle Diner”

  1. Edrian Thomidis Says:

    Candace – Congratulations for being a part the Doodle Dinner! I remember this piece from your blog. It is really great! Love the perspective! We’ll be back for more!

  2. Roberta Baird Says:

    Nice Candace… great perspective and oh boy is he a brave little bear to grab that beehive!!!

    …and I would love to see some of the dimensional illustration you were talking about!

  3. sketched out Says:

    Yay, there you are! I just love this lil bear, everything about it. The perspective is dead on and so dynamic… and, of course, the characters, including the bees are just adorable! Looking forward to more doodling with you!

  4. princesstomato Says:

    Hey Candace. Great piece, and i love getting to know more about you in your “interview”…
    teri

Leave a Reply

