Roberta Baird at The Doodle Diner

by

Rub a dub dub!
Rub a dub dub!
 Hi! Welcome to The Doodle Diner. My name is Roberta Baird and I’m so glad to be in The Doodle Diner group blog with these wonderful illustrators. I hope you’ll stop in often to see what’s on the menu!
 
What’s the first thing you remember drawing…
I remember drawing a self portrait in Kindergarten. Complete with brown page boy haircut, blue eyes, one lower than the other of course, a very cool striped skirt and one leg about three inches longer than the other.
Do you have a favorite memory from art class…
I was the only student in Advanced Art my senior year in high school, so rather than cancel the course, they housed me in another art class and I had individual assignments.  Oh, and I once I drew a portrait of my Algebra teacher and he raised my grade to a D-… does that count?  lol!
Do you have a favorite character from a book…
Oh yes…Miss Rumphius from the  book by the same name, written and illustrated by Barbara Cooney. She scattered lupine seeds…sowing a little beauty where ever she went.
 My studio is…
A mess right now! I work in a lot of different mediums, so I have a little bit here and there. I do try to clear the desk top every so often.
When you go to  a diner what food are you most likely to order….
Lets see… I’ll have a “short stack of vermonts, pigs on the side and a blond joe,  hold the sand!”  Translation: Pancakes with maple syrup, sausage and a coffee with cream, no sugar!
Care to join me?
Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Roberta Baird at The Doodle Diner”

  1. princesstomato Says:

    So THAT’s where all our coffee cups are disappearing to! Mabel said she didn’t see anything suspicious about those three patrons, but I had my doubts! I mentioned it to Mabel, and she just said, “Oh, they’ll bring it back. Don’t sweat it!”

    This is a really fun illustration, Roberta. 🙂

  2. Flora Thompson Says:

    this is fabulous I love the colors and everything!!
    blessings,Flora

  3. sketched out Says:

    Super fantastic, Roberta!! Not do the characters have great expression and movement, but I love your treatment of the water and the sky… triple dawg wow!!!

  4. Pickledog Says:

    Wow, tempest in a tea cup! The baker still trying to frost the cupcake is great fun! Very nice digital illustration!

  5. Edrian Thomidis Says:

    Congratulations of the Doodle Dinner! Love the concept and great little logo! This is a fun piece with lots of movement and character. We’ll be back for more joe!

  6. candacetrewcamling Says:

    this is such a great piece!! I love all the details and the characters are so fantastic.

Leave a Reply

