Linda is naked at the Diner

by

nakeasjaybird

 

NAKED AS A JAYBIRD

I woke up with a start today,
because my dream went wayward.
I dreamt I went to my first class,
naked as a jaybird.

………………………….

Waitress, I’d like a refill on my coffee and a side order of doodles… the diner is open for business…and I’m proud to be a part of this sweet, wacky, crazy-talented bunch of folk.

We’ve all been asked to answer a few questions to break the ice and here are my blatherings:

1. If you could only use one colour to draw or paint with forever and ever, which colour would you use?

Green. Any shade or tint will do. A bright, yellowish green evokes excitement and liveliness. Olive or moss green has a range from comforting to morose. Jade green can be mystical or refreshing. With a palette full of greens I feel I can communicate just about anything.

2. Other than your personal style what illustration style are you drawn to and would you ever consider trying it?

Although it’s a bit of a departure from the sketchy style I’ve been playing with lately, I am drawn to a more graphic, vector style. I’ve dabbled with it here and there over the years, but after being exposed to some fantastic vector artists of late, (like fellow Doodle Diner, David Sones) I feel inspired to get back into the Adobe Illustrator saddle and play some more.

3. What is the first thing you remember drawing?

I know I drew many things before this, but the most vivid early memory I have is of Fatty the puppy. My younger sister Susan was a big fan and she and I would create an ongoing illustrated story of the adventures of Fatty as I drew. So I suppose this is also my earliest recollection of artistic collaboration as well!

4. When you go to a diner, what food would you be most likely to order?

On a typical day I tend to lean more toward a salad or the ever popular Mediterranean style diet. However, on the odd occasion (less odd lately) I find myself craving diner food (AKA comfort food). It’s at these time I’ll have myself a patty melt with fries and a chocolate shake (the shake for dipping the fries in, of course.) Mmmmm… diner foooood!

5. Is there a certain person from your childhood that especially encouraged you to pursue your love for art? 

Both my parents encouraged my love of drawing as a child. However, my earliest recollection of that support is my dad bringing me pads and pads of bond paper home from the office on a regular basis. I would fill up these pads with drawings of strange characters and goofy animals as fast as he could bring them. (I wish I was that prolific now!) He also bestowed upon me, at an early age, many of his old art supplies. He gave me pastels, oil paints and a collection of how-to books. I played around with all this stuff and found that I had some natural ability and was hooked on creating art from that point on. 

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Linda is naked at the Diner”

  1. princesstomato Says:

    Dang, jaybird! What kind of operation do you think this is? 🙂 Maybe we need to dig up our “No shoes, No shirt, No service” sign!
    Welcome to the diner, in any case! oh, and jaybird gets the early bird special, of course!

  2. Pickledog Says:

    I’ll overt my eyes while you find a bird sized dressing gown. Cheeky illustration Linda! Thanks for mentioning me in your Q & A! It would be a lot of fun to see some Sketched Out vector stylings.

  3. Roberta Baird Says:

    So sorry to have interrupted you Lady Jay…. I’ll let you finish!

    I didn’t know you liked green… what a striking contrast with that lovely red hair of yours!

    … and I would love to see your vector work!

  4. candacetrewcamling Says:

    I LOVE this illustration!! looking forward to doodling with you!

Leave a Reply

